The Philippine province of Cavite (14.2456oN and 120.8786oE) is located on the southern portion of Luzon Island known as the CALABARZON Region.

Cavite is bounded by Metro Manila and Manila Bay in the north (south in the interactive map for the illustration is inverted), Batangas in the south (north in the map), Laguna in the east (west in the map) and the West Philippine Sea in the west (east in the map).

The total land area of the province is 142,706 hectares which comprises 0.4% of the total land land area of the Philippines.

The province is composed of seven cities and 16 municipalities with a total of 829 barangay communities. In the 2015 census of the Philippine Statistics Authority, the total population of Cavite was pegged at 3,778,301 people with an average population growth rate of 4.12%, far higher than the national average of 1.90%.  There is significant economic development in the province due to its proximity to Metro Manila.

There are six major river systems in Cavite, namely Maragondon, Labac-Alemang, Cañas, San Juan, Bacoor and the Imus River, which is Project ASEANO's pilot site in the Philippines. Illustrated below are selected maps from the project's technical GIS and RS map report, which you can find here


Fig. 1 - This map shows the network of the Imus River watershed as it flows down from Tagaytay City to the sea.


Fig. 2 - This map shows the seven major cities and municipalities encompassing the Imus River watershed.